A FIRST TIME FOR EVERYTHING by Dan Santat

My husband heard about a middle grade graphic memoir (yes, please) that had a Spotify soundtrack to go with it as you read, and I was super intrigued. Then I found out that A First Time for Everything was by the wonderful Dan Santat, who has illustrated some of my favorite picture books (i.e. The Blur and Endlessly Ever After), and I knew I had to read it. Well, I was so happy I did, because it was AWESOME. And honestly, while I can see why some people would call it middle grade, this very much felt like a YA book to me.

One summer during middle school, Dan gets to go on the trip of a lifetime – a weekslong tour of France, Germany, Switzerland, and England, getting to be both a tourist and experience life living with a German-speaking grandma. He is also away from home for the first time, meeting kids from other parts of the United States on his tour, including a girl that he becomes close to. His summer is such an exciting and interesting one to read about.

The combination of the music, many by European musicians, much of which I recognized and loved and the nostalgic feel of the story made this one of the best graphic memoirs of the year FOR SURE. I would recommend this honestly for any person 6th grade and up – including (and maybe especially adults, since it takes place in the 90s – yay for pre-cellphone days).

One thought on “A FIRST TIME FOR EVERYTHING by Dan Santat

Leave a comment