BE PREPARED by Vera Brosgol

When I was looking for middle grade books to read with my almost 9 year old, I found Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol and was intrigued. She has also written a graphic novel I really thought was different and spooky, Anya’s Ghost, and I liked that this one was written about a camp, so away we read!

Like a lot of middle grade books, this one felt more to me (and this really might just be me) very mature and closer to YA. The main character is only 10, but she rooms with girls much older than her, and gets sucked into their drama. Vera has a hard time fitting in at school, and thinks a camp where only Russian kids go would be the key, but things are much more difficult than she anticipates. Icky bathrooms, mean girls, and bad food were not what she signed up for. However, by the end, Vera learns a lot about making friends and getting through a difficult time.

This book was based on the author’s real life experiences, and I love a good graphic memoir. I definitely recommend this for 4th – 8th grade, although it’s enjoyable for older as well.

Leave a comment