WE DESERVE MONUMENTS by Jas Hammonds

It took me too long to read We Deserve Monuments by Jas Hammonds, but I’m so so glad that I did. I was looking for something for my Not-So-Young-Adult Book Club (an adult book club that reads YA), when I saw that We Deserve Monuments was on 5+ Best of the Year lists from 2022, and had multiple starred reviews

We Deserve Monuments is in short about Avery, a teenager in her senior year of high school. She moves with her parents from DC to Georgia to live with her grandmother, who has terminal breast cancer. Her mother and grandmother have basically had an almost non-existent relationship for most of Avery’s life, and her grandmother Letty is a tough woman to be around. This is not just a family story, a story about regrets and grief, but about racism, sexuality, friendship, with a big mystery and twist as well. 

This is such a well written book, I blew through it in about 24 hours. I would highly recommend this book to anyone in high school or even adults as well. 

One thought on “WE DESERVE MONUMENTS by Jas Hammonds

Leave a comment